Mens U-25 State A Trophy: J&K thrash Odisha

Promising left-arm spinner Vanshaj Sharma spun web around the rival batsmen and took 5-wicket haul, while talented middle-order batsman MusaifAjaz slammed cracking century and Kawal Preet Singh scored big half-century as Jammu and Kashmir thrashed Odisha in the Mens U-25 State A Trophy at Rajkot on Sunday.

Batting first, Odisha scored a modest total of 218 runs in 48.2 overs. Sandeep Pattanaik top scored with 72 runs off 79 balls, studded with 7 fours and one six, while Skipper Swastik Samal, Subhankar Biswas and Nisikanta Rout contributed 22, 21 and 20 runs to the total respectively.

For J&K,  left-arm spinner Vanshaj Sharma was the wrecker-in-chief who captured 5 wickets by conceding 30 runs in his 9.2 overs, while speedsters Lone Nasir Muzaffar and Basit Bashir took 2 wickets each. Another left-arm spinner Taizeem Younus Tak also claimed one wicket.

In reply, J&K chased the target easily in 41.3 overs by losing 2 wickets, thus won the match by 8 wickets.

In reply, J&K rode on a magnificent partnership of 161 runs and chased the target easily in 41.3 overs by losing 2 wickets, thus won the match by 8 wickets. MusaifAjaz scored superb unbeaten 104 runs off 125 balls, studded with 12 fours and one six, while Kawal Preet Singh contributed 67 off 86 balls with 8 boundaries. Jiyaad Nazir Magrey also contributed brisk 40 runs to the total.

For Odisha, Ashutosh Chhuria and Harshit Rathod took one wicket each.

The Sub Committee Members of JKCA including Brig Anil Gupta, Member-Administration; Advocate Sunil Sethi, Member Legal Affairs and Cricketer MithunManhas, Member Cricket Operations and Development JKCA congratulated the team for this splendid victory.

Read Also:  St Joseph's Higher Secondary School Baramulla celebrates Annual Sports Day

Majid Dar, Member Cricket Development Kashmir, RoopaliSlathia and Abdul Qayoom, Members Cricket Advisory Committee and JKCA Senior Selectors namely Vidhya Bhaskar, Vijay Sharma, Dhruv Mahajan and Arshid Bhat also congratulated the team for this big win.

The team is being accompanied by former First Class cricketer Sarabjeet Singh as Head Coach, Hilal Ahmed Zargar and Vivek Khajuria as Manager and Co-Manager respectively, Kavaljeet Singh as as Batting Coach, Sameer Ali as Bowling Coach, Guru Partap Singh as Trainer, Sahil Magotra as Performance/Video Analyst, Dr Chirag Pandya as Physio and Arun as Masseur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *