Panels to conduct 7th minor irrigation census | Will also conduct census of water bodies, springs in J&K

Jammu, Nov 21: The government has constituted Union Territory Level Steering Committee (UTLSC) and District Level Coordination Committees (DLCCs) for conducting 7th Minor Irrigation Census in J&K.

These panels will also conduct the second census of water bodies; first census of major and medium irrigation projects and first census of springs in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir.

Union Territory Level Steering Committee (UTLSC) will have Financial Commissioner (Revenue), J&K as its chairman. Administrative Secretary Planning, Development and Monitoring Department; Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forest (Central), J&K; Deputy Director General, State Head NSSO, Government of India; Director General, Economics and Statistics, J&K; Director Rural Development Department, Kashmir and Jammu; Director, Agriculture, Kashmir and Jammu; Director Command Area Kashmir and Jammu; Director, Central Water Commission, J&K; Chief Engineer, Irrigation & Flood Control, Kashmir and Jammu; Chief Engineer Jal Shakti (PHE), Kashmir and Jammu and a representative each of Central Ground Water Board, Ministry of Water Resources, Government of India and Western Regional Himalayan Centre Jammu (National Institute Member of Hydrology) will be its members.

Director (Statistics) with Financial Commissioner (Revenue), J&K will be the member secretary of UTLSC.

Deputy Commissioner of the respective districts will be the chairperson of District Level Coordination Committee.

Assistant Commissioner, Development; Divisional Forest Officer; Assistant Commissioner, Revenue; Chief Agriculture Officer; District Statistics and Evaluation Officer; Executive Engineer Jal Shakti (PHE) concerned; Executive Engineer, l&FC concerned and a representative of Central Ground Water Board, Ministry of Water Resources, Government of India will be its members.

Read Also:  5 policemen injured in Qazigund accident

Assistant Soil Conservation Officer will be the member secretary of DLCCs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *